Florida | Employment Law
Legal Question
Law regarding a service charge paid by a company intended for servers
If a company comes to a resort in Florida for a conference and has food and beverage functions, they pay a 20% service charge on all food and beverage. 10.5% of the service charge paid is intended to go to the waitstaff in the banquet department. However, at various times, the place that I work has decided to take back some of the service charge for different reasons, including to pay back unhappy clients who have decided to contest their bill. my question, i guess is: Who does that service charge legally belong to? Can they legally take the gratutity back at any point? thank you..


