Florida  |  Employment Law

question bubble
9/09/02, 2:36 pm

Legal Question


Last Paycheck

After working for an Internet hosting company for three months, I left because of unethical practices. The company was owned by two partners, one of which is a lawyer. I have been promised since Nov 2001 that I would receive my last paycheck, but have not. Two weeks ago, the company filed a dissolution. Last Friday, I received in the mail, a notice from the US Bankrupcy Court notifying me that one of the partners has filed Chapter 7. The chapter 7 is under his name, not the company. Do I have a claim as a creditor? They owe me two weeks pay. I have all correspondences from them acknowledging the fact that they owe me. I can't afford the filing fee, which is why I haven't done so.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search