Florida | Employment Law
Legal Question
Why am I salaried not hourly
I was hired as a retail merchandiser at an hourly rate to order & service the display racks in local grocery stores. After 6 months the company announced that it was no longer paying overtime and put me on salary (doing the exact same job) but with a ''title'' change to retail sales rep which makes it appear that I'm an outside sales person. Now the company has changed my ''duties'' to also include driving a van and delivering the product to the grocery stores as well as the aforementioned duties. I'm now known as a ''route delivery rep'' doing 2 jobs instead of 1 for the same ''salary''. Working more than 40 hours a week is the norm. Why am I salaried, not hourly? And how do the ''right to work'' laws fit in? How can they just totally change my job description and have me doing something I wasn't hired to do or particularly want to do and get away with it? I'm self supporting and tied up until or unless I find other equal employment. I'm also a 58 year old female. Thank you for your time.


