Florida | Employment Law
Legal Question
stopped payment on my paycheck
I was working for a company in Miami-Dade and after 3 weeks I was told I would not be receiving the overtime moneys I had earned during that period. When I collected my paycheck for that final week I told the employer that I couldn’t work and not get pain. I took my paycheck to c checking store and cashed it. After a few days I was informed by the checking store that a stop payment was put on the check and I now have to pay them back the $450 for the amount of the check and an additional $40 for a stop payment fee. I called my ex-employer and he said he stopped payment on my check “to teach me a lesson for complaining about the overtime and for quitting and to show the other employees what happens to people who do”. What can I do to get my pay and the imposed fee by the check cashing store?


