Florida | Employment Law
Legal Question
wrongful termination and fmla
The company I work for has informed me I am being terminated due to downsizing/restructuring. My last day is the same day I was to start Maternity Leave. My question is how can they due this and not pay me servernace, when other employees who were terminted due to downsizing did recieve serverance? Also, due to downsizing, I am training someone to fill my position and the job duties related. I was informed of this about 30 days ago, I am just now finding out about no serverance and so on. The company has also informed me to file for unemployment. I cannot legally due this since I am 9 months prregnant and cannot work for at least 6 weeks. What am I to do? Is this a case of wrongful termination and discrimination?
Thank you


