Florida  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
11/12/09, 9:55 am

Legal Question


Coldwell Banker real estate company leased me a home that they new was in foreclosure. I received formal notice after taking possession. When I questioned them they said it should not take more than 30-60 days to resolve. They had agreed in the original lease to make some repairs to the property but did not. I gave them 6 months to resolve the matter. In the meantime I left my belongings in storage in Dallas costing me over $5oo a month storage fees. After 6 months I sent a letter giving 30 days notice and moved out stating I did not feel safe there knowing that I could be evicted, not being able to use the property for what I had originally leased it for to hold my belongings and thirdly that they did not do the original repairs as listed on the lease.

I have received a certified letter that they are keeping my $1800 deposit because I broke the lease. I paid my rent every month on time to someone who was not paying their mortgage. I feel that this is very unfair and would like to know if I have any recourse in this matter.

Thank you for your help,

Chuck Alford


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search