Florida  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
12/10/07, 3:47 pm

Legal Question


Landlord and Tenants

I don't know if this is the right place

to ask, but I got a notice on my door

the other day (addressing my

landlord, not me) saying that my

landlord owes a bit of money to the

(I'm guessing) the HOA and the all of

the amenities we (my wife and I)

have been suspended. We talked to

the landlord and he said the he is

losing a lot of money on this place

and didn't know if he could keep it,

then encouraged us to look for a new

place to live. He asked my wife how

long she thought it might take to find

a place and she said March.

My wife and I found a place a lot

sooner then we thought and we can

be out by Jan. We told our landlord

and he said that if we leave in Jan

that he would take us to court to

collect on the remaining months rent

(5 months). I was just wondering,

can he do this even though he is

behind on payments and we no

longer have access to the amenities?

Where can I go to find out if he is in

foreclosure? If he is in foreclosure,

do we have the right to leave early?

Thank you for your time and any

help you might be able to provide.

--name removed--and Barbara White


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search