Florida  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
11/15/09, 8:28 pm

Legal Question


is it against the law for my landlord to rent me his apt that was in foreclosure before the lease was signed and not disclose this to me. i signed the lease for 1 year


question bubble
11/20/09, 8:31 pm

Legal Answer


No, it is not against the law.

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/21/09, 10:38 am

Legal Answer


No. The fact that his property is in foreclosure does not mean he can not rent. If the property finally does go into foreclosure, the lender will inform you as well being that you are a tenant.

Lucreita Becude

Lucreita D. Becude, P.A. 12469 Antler Hill Drive, N Jacksonville, FL 32224

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/21/09, 12:39 pm

Legal Answer


No. The property still belongs to him, and he was able to deliver possession to you. The landlord still has an opportunity to cure the default and save the residence from foreclosure.

Lesly Longa

Longa Law P.A. 511 W Bay Street, Suite 350 Tampa, 33606

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search