Florida  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
12/14/07, 10:15 am

Legal Question


No Lease and Late Payments

Hi. Help please, I don't know what direction I should take and what my options are.

I acquired property from my dad who had his attorney handling his affairs after he went to prison (including his condo). I received total POA, he relieved his attorney of her POA and sold the condo to me. The attorney had a tenant in the place (another lawyer) who I kept in there but he won't sign a lease agreement with me he says until the old landlord gives back his deposit or transfers it to me. She won't do this she says until he moves. She won't talk to me and the tenant won't produce the lease agreement he had withthe past landlord. He makes payments but makes them late and causes me to incur heavy late charges with the mortgage company. The tenant continiously changes up the story about where the lease agreement is and when he is sending it along with when his payemnt is due according to that agreement.

Does he have the right to not make payments the day I tell him to regardless of an ineffective lease agreement that he won't show me that was not between us?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search