Florida | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
....O.k. I mailed my landlord a notice to vacate certified on 8/25/09, He did not pick it up until 8/31/09. We met with the landlord on 9/2 to give him back the keys to the apartment. By Florida Law I believe it states that the landlord has 14 days from the date of notice to return a certified mail to me stating what he will deduct from my security deposit and what I will be receiving back.... I have not received any mail or phone call from my old landlord stating what they will be deducting from my deposit. Do you know when I should mail him a certified letter stating that because there was no response that by law I am entitled to my full security deposit back, and do you know how long the landlord has to respond to me before I need to file the papers with the court??? I found something that stated I could request the deposit as early as 10 days from the 14 days, but I'm not sure how accurate that is, If you have any ideas they would be greatly appreciated, Thank you


