Florida | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
paying rent during foreclosure of single family home
We just got news that the home we rent is in foreclosure. We paid 1st, last, & security deposit at move-in. Our 1 yr lease is up March 1, 2008. We doubt we'll get our deposit back. We've decided Not to pay Jan. '08's rent and call it even on the deposit owed to us. Feb. '08 rent is paid. Can we do this?
And, do we have to vacate the home March 1st when our lease is up with the landlord since foreclosure preceedings have begun?


