Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Florida

Pet Deposit and Security Deposits

I live in Florida and rented an apartment in an apt community which required a $500 non-refundable pet deposit fee and a $150 security deposit. I have now moved and received a letter stating the landlords intention to retain the security deposit in its entirety and added a charge of $96 for rug replacement. When I moved in the rug was so badly spotted I demanded a replacement which they denied. I put all the stains and there placement on the move-in conditions checklist. The pet deposit is supposed to cover damages to the rug which my dog did not do as he was housebroken to which I have a document from the SPCA that states so. I sent a certified letter to them stating that they use the pet deposit and return my security deposit. If I take them to small claims {on principal} is there a possibility of winning?

Asked on 3/11/09, 12:16 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Brent Rose The Orsini & Rose Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Pet Deposit and Security Deposits

I'd say it's likely, if they're claiming the damage was caused by the dog.

Read more
3/11/09, 12:38 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8807 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now