Florida  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
11/15/09, 8:27 am

Legal Question


I would like to sue my ex landlord for a months rent due to that she got upset because I was moving out and accused me of hitting her and I got arrested and went thru troubles because of her lies.. I never hit her nor did the police thing so that day that they went to the house. But they put out a warrant and I was arrested for aggravated assualt


question bubble
11/20/09, 8:42 am

Legal Answer


You can file your claim in small claims court. The foirms are available at the courthouse.

Alan Wagner

Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A. 601 Bayshore Boulevard; Suite 910 Tampa, FL 33606

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/20/09, 12:26 pm

Legal Answer


I suggest you go a different route. You are responsible for rent and your lease probably states so. As to the aggravated assault charge, I suggest you file a suit against her for false reporting to the police and sue for damages not to mention getting your record expunged. This could create problems for you in the future for jobs.

Lucreita Becude

Lucreita D. Becude, P.A. 12469 Antler Hill Drive, N Jacksonville, FL 32224

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/20/09, 12:35 pm

Legal Answer


I agree that you should file charges against her for making a false report to the police, and then go through the process of getting your record expunged. On another note, if you moved out prior to the end of your lease and without giving her proper notice, the landlord was entitled to damages. Regards,

Lesly Longa

Longa Law P.A. 511 W Bay Street, Suite 350 Tampa, 33606

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search