Florida | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
Unethical Real Estate Agent. & Unresponsive Landlord
I signed a 12m lease on a 2b/2b apartment in a gated community (privately owned condo) on 8/15/07. When trying to negotiate the price, the agent told me that she gave us the lowest price she could get. It wasn't until after the lease was signed that it is revealed that the agent is the sister-in-law to the landlord. I later find out that she gave someone else a better price for the same unit model for less money. When moving in, I also found out that there is no car care center or BBQ's which were advertised. I found them through their ad in the school paper, and found out that they waited until all students have arrived and lowered the advertised rent by $100 and 2 free months included, and still advertising missing amenities. The agent is a licensed NAR REALTOR and broke several of parts of the ''Code of Ethics.'' Is there anything I can do? Also, when making an inquiry to the landlord on trying to renegotiate the lease, their failure to respond is coming up on 1 month, and the rent is due? Please help! Thanks!


