Florida  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
11/15/08, 2:58 pm

Legal Question


attorney malpractice

I gave an attorney in N. Miami just under $1000. to start a lawsuit for me over a stolen vehicle. He miss handled the case, as time was ticking on the statute of limitations for it to be filed. He disappeared, and has since been permanently disbarred for miss handling money from other clients etc..

I never received my file, or my retainer and my case was not filed in time, or ever.

The Fl. Barr Association sent me some info for client funds.

Can I sue the attorney for malpractice, or do I just ask the Barr Association client fund for my retainer?

What rights may I have left now?

Because of him I have no chance to recover money for my vehicle, and I'm out my retainer after much aggravation dealing with the attorney.

Thank you for your help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search