Florida  |  Mediation

question bubble
10/31/09, 7:17 am

Legal Question


Can a Public Adjuster appear on behalf of a named insured at a Mediation Hearing if the named insured is not physically present? If the Public Adjuster has a Power of Attorney, can the Public Adjuster appear at a Florida mediation without the insured being present? This involves a disputed claim regarding a fire loss for personal contents only. The Mediator and a representative from the carrier with full authority to settle will be present.


question bubble
11/05/09, 3:39 pm

Legal Answer


Strictly speaking, the mediation statute requires that the actual parties be present at the mediation, but I doubt anyone would object if the Publlic Adjuster showed up on behalf of the insurance company so long as the adjuster had full authority to settle.

Brent Rose

The Orsini & Rose Law Firm 410 Ware Boulevard, Suite 401 Tampa (and Throughout Florida), FL 33619

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search