Florida  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
11/11/09, 3:39 pm

Legal Question


If you learn after two years that a previous doctor did not properly treat an illness is this medical malpractice ? I was diagnoised with afib in 2007 and was never placed on any blood thinners. My new doctors ( established in 2009 ) both have asked me why I was not placed on this medication when the afib was found and after cardioversion failed to convert my heart to normal.


question bubble
11/16/09, 4:16 pm

Legal Answer


If there is no harm done, then there are no damages and thus, while it may have technically been medical malpractice, it does not likely rise to the level of being a medical malpractice lawsuit.

Tami Diebel

The Plaintiffs Law Firm 272 W. Warren Ave Longwood, FL 32750

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/16/09, 4:16 pm

Legal Answer


It depends. Sometimes afib is not treated with thinners. There is also the issue of whether the delay has harmed you at all. Your current doctors can tell you that, but they are often not anxious to say that a fellow doctor has been negligent -- often called the conspiracy off silence.

Alan Wagner

Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A. 601 Bayshore Boulevard; Suite 910 Tampa, FL 33606

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/16/09, 4:23 pm

Legal Answer


see www.ConsumerLawyerHelp.com re medical negligence.

Angelo Marino

Angelo Marino Jr. PA 645 SE 5 Terrace Ft Lauderdale, 33301

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/16/09, 4:30 pm

Legal Answer


You have 2 years from when you first learned that there may have been negligence to bring a claim as long as it has not been more than 4 years from the date of the treatment. As you have been advised earlier, if there was no significant damage caused by the delay it may not be economically feasible to pursue a claim

Jeffrey Garvin

Garvin Law Firm 7800 University Pointe Dr. Suite 100 Fort Myers, FL 33907

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search