Florida  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
11/12/09, 5:14 pm

Legal Question


Who is liable if a medical assistant refills a prescription without the doctors authorization and the patient dies? Is this criminal or civil?


question bubble
11/17/09, 5:18 pm

Legal Answer


There may be a civil claim for damages against the person who refilled the prescription, and possibly against the doctor or others who were supposed to supervise the person. However, there are also issues to be determined as to whether the refilled prescription actually caused the patient's death.

Medical malpractice cases are extremely complicated. We would be happy to discuss the sitaution with you. We offer a free initial consultation.

Steven Meyer

Law Offices of Steven Meyer 2295 N.W. Corporate Blvd., Suite 117 Boca Raton, FL 33431

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/17/09, 8:18 pm

Legal Answer


see www.ConsumerLawyerHelp.com for a discussion of what medical malpractice is. Unless the assistant intented to cause harm, it is more likely not criminal.

Angelo Marino

Angelo Marino Jr. PA 645 SE 5 Terrace Ft Lauderdale, 33301

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/18/09, 9:42 am

Legal Answer


It is a civil matter.

Alan Wagner

Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A. 601 Bayshore Boulevard; Suite 910 Tampa, FL 33606

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/18/09, 10:38 am

Legal Answer


It is a civil matter, I agree with my colleagues. I'm actually working on a pharmacy case right now that is similar. Feel free to check out my www.avvo.com profile that has a discussion of damages in a medical malpractice matter, or my website at www.frazierfirm.com.

I am so sorry for your loss. I know there are other issues that could go along with this matter and all of them would need to be discussed and reviewed prior to a law firm accepting the case. Many attorneys will provide a free consultation to discuss the issues. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

Tami Diebel

The Plaintiffs Law Firm 272 W. Warren Ave Longwood, FL 32750

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search