Florida  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
7/14/09, 3:44 am

Legal Question


Medical Fraud?

About a month ago I went to the emergency room after a slip and fall fearing that I may have broken my foot. While I was there they took three x-rays, told me it was a sprain, and then taped two of my toes together and sent me off on my way barefoot. Not even with a brace or surgical sock to cover my foot and protect it from any sort of hazard on my way out.

Now, about a month later the bills have started coming in. So far I've received a $1000 bill from the emergency room, another $400 from some physician that I've never met, and a notice that I'm past due from some medical imaging company who I've never visited, and never even sent me a bill in the first place!

I don't understand where all of these other bills are coming from if the x-rays were handled in-house by the hospital and the physician who I never met was presumably on the hospital's payroll.

I don't have health insurance and this is the first time in over ten years that I've been to a hospital. Somehow I can't help but think that I'm being ripped off, especially since all they did was take three pictures of my foot and tape my toes together while sending me off with a $1,400+ roll of tape as a consolation prize.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search