Florida  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
10/06/03, 4:33 pm

Legal Question


Rhabdomyosarcoma Mishap

I had visited Tampa General Hospital ER over 10 times in a 4 week period starting February 25th of this year due to Urinary Retention and blood coming from my urethra. There was so much blood I thought I it was my time of the month. During the first visit I was asked if there was anything abnormal I had noticed. I informed the ER nurse that there was a swelling inside the opening of my vagina. They did not check it out because I had said it did not hurt. I was catheterized (over 900 cc's of blood & urine was removed), found out I was pregnant and told to see a urologist. No urologist would see me because of the blood and pregnancy. I had to return to the ER about 2 days later to have the catheter removed. I returned to the ER later that night and many other times to have a catheter replaced or removed. I later was diagnosed with Rhabdomyosarcoma (a rare cancerous tumour that was located in my bladder) after being informed (during my 3rd visit to TGH ER to have catheter removed) of a urological facility at the TGH High Risk Facility. Would I have a case against TGH? The tumour almost doubled in size by the time they checked out the lump.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search