Florida  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
11/17/09, 12:25 am

Legal Question


I ruptured my achilles tendon 100percent in a basketball game. caught staff infection from surgery and although i repeatedly told my doctor about the pain from the constant burning, the infection went undiagnosed for four months. words cant describe what i went through. the doctor sent me to see his wound care specialist because my incision area had two gaping holes that still hadnt healed at the time of my last cast removel. to this date, I now have severe tendonitis,bursitis, and arthritis. My question is, do I have any grounds for legal action as to how long i had this infection?


question bubble
11/22/09, 6:35 am

Legal Answer


You may have a med mal case. (or equally maybe not) It is unethical for personal injury attorneys to solicit their services to you. So, you will need to go to them. Choose carefully -- looking in the phone book is fine, but I happen to know that the guy who has his picture on the back cover is a crook. Look for someone you can trust who will handle your case himself. Look for someone who will actually give you the direct phone number to their desk or cell. Your case should be taken on contingency (meaning, the attorney gets a percentage of your recovery, and you do not pay up-front).

Good luck to you!!!

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/22/09, 1:19 pm

Legal Answer


See discussion of medical malpractice in www.ConsumerLawyerHelp.com. Go to www.ConsumerLawyerHelp.com for all your legal needs. Become a member of the site and receive a newsletter on the different areas of the law each month. To become a member, simply send an email to amjrpamail@aol.com and put in the heading “member.”

Thank you!

Angelo Marino

Angelo Marino Jr. PA 645 SE 5 Terrace Ft Lauderdale, 33301

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/22/09, 2:31 pm

Legal Answer


Perhaps. Medical malpractice cases can be very expensive, so make sure that any lawyer has the resources to take your case to trial if tyat is your decision. Too frequently I see and hear of lawyers that are quick to take the complex case but, when there is only a small settlement offer (or none at all) they bail, or pressure the client to settle because they can't afford to go to trial. Then it is hard or impossible to find a new lawyer. In your case, probably the most important witness is your infectious disease doctor. If he won't support your case (and many will refuse to testify against a fellow doctor), you will have a very difficult case to pursue.

Alan Wagner

Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A. 601 Bayshore Boulevard; Suite 910 Tampa, FL 33606

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search