Florida  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
10/29/09, 9:20 am

Legal Question


In 2003 Someone I was dating was driving my car while I was at work and they hit a rental car insured by state farm. There was a hearing that I went to in I believe 2005 and there were payment arrangements set up of $50 or $75 as for the party that was driving my car we had seperated so I don't know what his arrangement was and he didn't show up at the hearing. I ended up losing my job not long after that so I wasn't able to continue making payments towards what was owed even though I felt I shouln't being that I wasn't the one in tha accident. I know found out that state farm wants to sue me for the money owed as well as they have suspended my license and I would be required to pay $595.00 just to get my license back and get the SR-22 as well as I would have to set up and make payment arrangements monthly or they will suspend my license again


question bubble
11/03/09, 9:31 am

Legal Answer


An owner is responsible for anyone driving its vehicle with permission.

David Slater

David P. Slater, Esq. 5154 Windsor Parke Dr. Boca Raton, FL 33496

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/03/09, 10:08 am

Legal Answer


It sounds like you agreed to make the payments as part of a settlement.

Lesly Longa

Longa Law P.A. 511 W Bay Street, Suite 350 Tampa, 33606

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search