Florida  |  Personal Injury

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/05/13, 1:27 pm

Does my attorney in my auto accident case have to notify me of any offers of settlement from the insurance company so I decide wether to accept it or not?

Also,if my attorney thinks "it's a good deal,and I should take it....do I have to,or can I tell him it is un acceptable and I want more and want to go to trial?

5 Answers


Answered on: 9/05/13, 1:33 pm by David Slater

1. Yes

2. Yes


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David P. Slater, Esq. 5154 Windsor Parke Dr. Boca Raton, FL 33496

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/05/13, 1:36 pm by Barry Stein

Yes your attorney is duty bound to tell you about any offers which are received. BTW that does not mean instantaneously. It means in the ordinary course of handling the case. That can take days to weeks to fully appreciate if there are outstanding bills etc. that have to be dealt with.

You don't have to follow your attorney's advice, but that is why you hired the attorney. You need to trust the attorney's expertise. If you don't then you may want to consider using a different attorney. The attorney does not have to "go to trial" unless the attorney believes that is in your best interests and the attorney can accomplish what you want. Discuss it in detail with the attorney.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary 25 SE 2nd Avenue Suite 425 Miami, FL 33131

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/05/13, 3:28 pm by Michael Tobin

Read the Statement of Clients Rights!


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Michael M. Tobin, P.A. 9400 South Dadeland Blvd. Penthouse 5 Miami, FL 33156

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/05/13, 3:31 pm by Nick Ortiz

The answer to both questions is "Yes."


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Ortiz Law Firm 528 W Garden St, Ste 3 Pensacola, FL 32502

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/05/13, 3:49 pm by Byron Petersen

The Florida Rules of Professional Conduct address this situation and are very strict.

An attorney must notify you of every offer and the circumstances that led up to that offer.

The attorney can jump up and down but you control your own fate- you, not the attorney, decide whether to settle and for what amount. Moreover, any fee engagement agreement that attempts to restrict your rights in this regard is void, illegal, and unethical.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Byron G. Petersen P.A. 21346 Suite 200 Boca Raton, FL 33433

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search