Florida  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
4/02/10, 6:45 pm

Legal Question


My attorney failed to get in touch with one of the medical providers that I owed money too and we settled wtihout it. Now the Billing company has surfaced and the original business has closed. I found out the attorney had signed a lawyers lien with the Billing company acting as agent for the service provider back in 07 when the services were provided. Instead of trying to contact the billing company they tried to contact the provider directly and they had gone out of business, so now 3 years later the Billing service is trying to collect from me after we have settled. I feel as though the attorneys office was negligent in it's search to collect information for proper settlement. Am I correct? He claims he only has to try to contact the provider, NOT the agent in which he signed a lien form with? I did not sign that lien form, am I liable for these fees?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search