Florida  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
11/12/09, 12:43 pm

Legal Question


Do a attorney have the a settlement check when you sign the relasea paper?

how many days it take for a attorney do recive a check at his office?


question bubble
11/17/09, 1:27 pm

Legal Answer


Unfortunately, there is no clear cut answer to this question. Depending on the type of case it is (medical malpractice, auto accident, slip and fall, products) and whether the case was in suit will affect the course of the settlement papers. If settled without suit in an auto case, generally you can expect a check right away--anywhere from 5-10 days after the insurance co.receives the settlement papers. This is much different in other cases. If suit is filed, in all cases, there can be anywhere from 10 to 30 days before the attorney obtains the check. Sometimes longer.

Angelo Marino

Angelo Marino Jr. PA 645 SE 5 Terrace Ft Lauderdale, 33301

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/17/09, 1:49 pm

Legal Answer


Sometimes we are able to get the insurance company to send the check along with the release but often the company will not deliver the check until they have the signed release. Clearing an out of town check can also take 5 banking days after deposit.

Michael Tobin

Michael M. Tobin, P.A. 9400 South Dadeland Blvd. Penthouse 5 Miami, FL 33156

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/17/09, 4:19 pm

Legal Answer


Sometimes the attorney will get it after, but it just depends. Talk to your attorney about this.

Lesly Longa

Longa Law P.A. 511 W Bay Street, Suite 350 Tampa, 33606

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search