Florida  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
11/13/09, 9:47 am

Legal Question


I belong to a YMCA where children under the age of eighteen use the weights and machines without any adult supervision within the fitness room. I know this is unwise but is it technically legal?


question bubble
11/18/09, 10:36 am

Legal Answer


It is certainly a potential liability to the YMCA if a child gets hurt. See the YMCA membership contract/policies, which I believe (I am a member) prohibit children from using equipment without adult supervision. The YMCA may have some duty to enforce its policy, but liability depends upon a number of factors including the language of the contract/policies and a parent's failure to supervise their child(ren).

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/19/09, 10:21 am

Legal Answer


It may be a liability issue for the YMCA if a child is injured. Usually children are only allowed in certain areas at certain times and under supervision. Check the Y's policies, and notify a manager of what's been going on so that he/she can take action to remedy the situation.

Lesly Longa

Longa Law P.A. 511 W Bay Street, Suite 350 Tampa, 33606

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search