Florida  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
11/13/09, 10:31 pm

Legal Question


If i get in a car accident and the one that hit you was running from the cops will you get some kind of payment?


question bubble
11/19/09, 10:38 am

Legal Answer


Depends on many factors. If the car the person was driving was his/hers, then you need to determine if there was insurance. If there is insurance, then one must make a negligent claim--not intentional tort claim--against the driver. If it is a stolen car, you have a problem unless you have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (you can do that in both instances). You may also have a claim against the police agency if the chase was not within the guidelines.Go to www.ConsumerLawyerHelp.com for all your legal needs. (Become a member of the site and receive a newsletter on the different areas of the law each month. To become a member, simply send an email to amjrpamail@aol.com and put in the heading “member.”

Thank you!)

Angelo Marino

Angelo Marino Jr. PA 645 SE 5 Terrace Ft Lauderdale, 33301

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/19/09, 11:18 am

Legal Answer


Also check if he was fleeing a police chase you may qualify for compensation of up to $10,000 in the Crimes Victims Compensation Fund. Police agency has the forms.

Michael Tobin

Michael M. Tobin, P.A. 9400 South Dadeland Blvd. Penthouse 5 Miami, FL 33156

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search