Florida  |  Personal Injury

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/23/13, 9:35 am

my daughter rear ended a car on turnpike and their car flipped the driver died she is on my insurance policy. we are apparently under insured. my claim adjuster received a financial affidavit from their attorney. one of the questions is that i dont have more than 5,000 in assets, but i do. they are asking for tax returns, bank account numbers, etc. i dont feel comfortable filling it out. should I? i dont own a house, no $ in bank accounts, just an ira, life insurance and a failing business. what should i do? should i not fill it out?

3 Answers


Answered on: 9/23/13, 9:42 am by David Slater

You need an attorney to advise on this, since you and your daughter may be personally liable for any deficiency judgment obtained against you. Your interests on this differ from your insurance carrier. You need to fill it out correctly. Good luck.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David P. Slater, Esq. 5154 Windsor Parke Dr. Boca Raton, FL 33496

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/23/13, 9:56 am by Michael Tobin

If you honestly have no assets, you have no reason to refuse their reasonable request.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Michael M. Tobin, P.A. 9400 South Dadeland Blvd. Penthouse 5 Miami, FL 33156

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/23/13, 1:22 pm by Barry Stein

You need an attorney to assist you through this. providing the information may get the other parties to accept the insurance coverage and not pursue you personally.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary 25 SE 2nd Avenue Suite 425 Miami, FL 33131

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search