Florida  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
11/01/09, 11:24 pm

Legal Question


I was hired as a caregiver for this 90 year old man by his daughters who told me he can be difficult. we were heading out for lunch and the security alarm went off as he was setting it, which made him mad. as i was triying to calm him down the secuirty company came to the door asked if everything was alright, as i was explaining to the guard what happed, the 90 year old man lashed out on me and poked me in my eyes and nose and scratched my face... the security man help stop him, i went to the hospital and was release and fired. this was my second day on the job. To me the daughters are liable for not explaining the whole history to me, even when i asked... althought, the police and the security guard gave me a wealth of info... one of the comment were " he has guns and you are lucky he did not shoot you" can i sue them? and him for personal injury, intentional wrongs, assault and battery cuppable negligence


question bubble
11/07/09, 12:00 am

Legal Answer


Yuo can sue him for assualt, but it does not sound like you were hurt to any significant degree.

Alan Wagner

Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
601 Bayshore Boulevard; Suite 910
Tampa, FL 33606

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/07/09, 9:49 am

Legal Answer


This guy appears to be crazy and the daughters were negligent in having you work there. Assault and battery is a claim, but I believe the better approach is to make a claim for negligence against the daughters and the man since such a claim will bring in the homeowner's policy. This means there will be insurance to pay for your medical bills and some more.

Do not know if the claim is big enough to have a lawyer get involved though, but try.

see www.ConsumerLawyerHelp.com

Angelo Marino

Angelo Marino Jr. PA
645 SE 5 Terrace
Ft Lauderdale, 33301

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/07/09, 6:33 pm

Legal Answer


You should consult with an attorney to give them all the facts. Regards,

Lesly Longa

Longa Law P.A.
511 W Bay Street, Suite 350
Tampa, 33606

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search