Florida | Personal Injury
Legal Question
Hi!
Two questions,
1.) If a case goes to appeal and the appeal is lost and the the case goes back for re-trial what happens to the bond?
2.) If you choose to use a different attorney for the re-trial and you win with the new attorney,does the first attorney still get paid or just the second attorney?
Legal Answer
The bond usually vanishes.
Assuming the attorney is on a contingency fee basis, if you fire the attorney, he has a claim for the value of his work. If the attorney quits the case, he forfeits any right to a fee.
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A. 601 Bayshore Boulevard; Suite 910 Tampa, FL 33606
► Other answers from this attorney

