Florida | Personal Injury
Legal Question
motion to dismiss #of times?
in a PI/ civil case,,how many times can the defence make a motion to dismiss? also is it common to try dismiss a case based on a deposition
motion to dismiss #of times?
in a PI/ civil case,,how many times can the defence make a motion to dismiss? also is it common to try dismiss a case based on a deposition
|
Read More Answered By: Scott R. Jay |
Re: motion to dismiss #of times? NOTE: This communication is not intended as and should not be interpreted as legal advice. Rather, it is intended solely as a general discussion of legal principles. You should not rely on or take action based on this communication without first presenting ALL relevant details to a competent attorney in your jurisdiction and then receiving the attorney's individualized advice for you. By reading the "Response" to your question or comment, you agree that the opinion expressed is not intended to, nor does it, create any attorney-client relationship, nor does it constitute legal advice to any person reviewing such information, nor will it be considered an attorney-client privileged communication. If you do not agree, then stop right here, and do not read any further.
As many times as they can find grounds to make the motion. Eventually the court (judge) will get tired and slap them with a sanction (penalty) if the motion is frivilous. If a motion is filed without merit, the court may award attorney's fees and costs for the prevailing party on the motion hearing at any time.
Scott R. Jay, Esq. |
|
Read More Answered By: Alan Wagner |
Re: motion to dismiss #of times? As many times as the judge allows it. Sooner or later, the judge will not allow you to continue to amend and "fix" any problem. It is very unusual for someone to move to dismiss after a deposition. That happens sometimes when they believe that they can show the person is a liar. It is rare fore such motions to be granted. |
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7773
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Ft Lauderdale,
Questions Answered: 1810
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Willoughby, OH
Questions Answered: 373
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
► Slip and fall I don't remamber the date, but I slipped and fell in a store. I wasn't...
► Personal Injury to husband and myself An entertainer driving his brand new tour bus,...
► Defendant needs advice? 11/17/2007 was was issued a summons from The Chapman Law...
► Personal injury when filing a suit against a proffesional is it the same as filing...
► Do I have a case for legal malpractice When hiring attorney he said my case was open...
► How can File a Lawsuit VS the state of Flordia Mystep son and my wife have been...
► Personal Injury Checklist Personal Injury Checklist
More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Florida| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press