Florida  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
11/15/08, 9:43 pm

Legal Question


Slip and Fall

I live in NJ and was on vacation in Savannah Ga in feb 2008. I fell at a hotel in GA and injured my knee. I now have permenant nerve damage and need to wear a brace on my leg because of the fall. I was out of work for approx 8 weeks and now I am out of work for several months and expect to be for some time.

The hotel was put on notice when it happened and an incident report was filled out. According to the person who filled out the report, the stairs where I fell have been a problem for many years and many recommendations were made to fix them. All reccomendtions to fix the steps have been ignored.

The hotle is a local chain with approx 10 hotels in the south east area of the US. It's head office is in orlando, FL. They do not have any hotels or offices in the NJ area.

Do I need to file in State Court in NJ and GA OR do I need to file in Federal Court in NJ, FL or GA?

What are the advanatages and disadvantages in filing in federal court as oppose to state court?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search