Florida  |  Product Liability

question bubble
7/19/04, 10:09 am

Legal Question


defective engine assembly

I have a performance boat with twin engines, which retail for approx.$40,000@. One of them came apart, puting a connecting rod through th oil pan. It has a rod bolt come loose and fall into the pan, and on inspection found all rod bolts loose, they were never torqed. I spoke with the builder and he idenified who assembled this engine also the other one. Through a sell out of his business to another, still under the same and in the same location. Warranty is one year or 200 hours. I am over on the time but have 128 hourson them. The builder admitted negligence but none of the partoes will be responsible to make it right. Due to the buy out, but they still market under the same company name. I said I would Remove and replace the engines and take care of the freight to and from Florida, but I feel they should be responsible for going through the engines and making those right. There ads promise the best engines in there class. This was assembly error or negligence and the same person assembled both. I feel they should make both engines right at there expence as I totally have maintained these engines in perfect condition. Please give me some advice before I pursue this matter as I am half way through my boting season!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search