Re: Roach found in coffee...
NOTE: This communication is not intended as and should not be interpreted as legal advice. Rather, it is intended solely as a general discussion of legal principles. You should not rely on or take action based on this communication without first presenting ALL relevant details to a competent attorney in your jurisdiction and then receiving the attorney's individualized advice for you. By reading the "Response" to your question or comment, you agree that the opinion expressed is not intended to, nor does it, create any attorney-client relationship, nor does it constitute legal advice to any person reviewing such information, nor will it be considered an attorney-client privileged communication. If you do not agree, then stop right here, and do not read any further.
No, the situation would not truly rise to the level of being worthwhile to pursue legally. First and foremost, it would be your word against theirs. Since you took the coffee out of the premises, it can easily be argued that the roach entered the cup in your car. Secondly, and more importantly, you did not incur any damages. For any legal action to be pursued you need to be damaged by whatever negligent action the other party took.
In your matter, you would be best off writing a letter to the corporate office and advising them of the situation. They would probably offer you some free food as a matter of goodwill based on your experience.
Scott R. Jay, Esq.