Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Florida

I have an agreement for deed (Florida) also known as an installment sale contract or contract for deed.

The seller holds legal title as security until all payments are made. When the buyer has made all of the payments under the contract, the seller delivers a deed to the buyer.

The agreement for deed has been recorded in the public records and we pay all the taxes.

Here’s the problem: Seller dedicated an easement for ingress or egress, two years into our contract and I was not made aware of this nor is this in our contract, did he have the authority to do this? Is this dedication valid? We did a title search on the property and found this in the records. Is there anything we can do?

Asked on 8/22/09, 4:11 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Depending on your contract, the seller may be in breach. Unless you filed a notice of the sale with the County clerk, you are stuck with the easement.

Read more
8/22/09, 4:18 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now