Florida  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
9/27/02, 3:39 pm

Legal Question


Bad Pipes

Myself and 2 roommates moved out of the house we were renting on August 31st. I had the water shut off a few days later (effective Sept 6, 2002 per the bill). Our normal water bill was $60-$70 every 3 months. Our final water bill was $635.25. I called the water company and they told me that they sent a second meter reader to confirm the reading and weren't responsible for the high bill and that myself (and roommates) or the landlord would have to pay.

If the house we were renting had bad pipes or some other reason that the bill was 10x the normal amount, legally do we have to pay it? Is the Landlord responsible? Do I have to sue and do we have a leg to stand on?

Please help


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search