Florida | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Buying a House
I have been seperated for 10mths from my husband ,but have not yet filed for divorce. I live in Florida where the housing market is in a down turn and have an opportunity to get a great deal on buying a house. The loan is not based on his income in any way and the deed/title would be in my name only. I have been told that Florida is a Homestead state, and because of this my husband would have to sign a spot on the mortgage loan basically acknowledging that I have taken out this loan. When we do get divorced, will he in any way have a right or some kind of entitlement to the property? This will be the primary residence for me and our children and I want to make sure it will be protected from him having any right to it in the future.


