Florida | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
eminent domain
We purchased 8 acres of property 14 years ago, ours is the last house on the driveway. Sold 1 acre lot to my son, who is now building a house. The entrance to all ten houses is a public dirt driveway. The previous owner of the entrance to the dirt path gave everyone who had houses free use to the public driveway, in return everyone on the drive has paid semi-annually for grading and rock beds. A new owner has purchased the property where the entrace to the public driveway begins. He is now saying that it is his property and he does not have to allow anyone access to the driveway and its boarders for trucks to come in or for sewer or utility lines to be established, although he has taken money for the repair of the drive. Do we already have eminent domain from the previous owener?


