Florida | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
My ex-husband and I owned a timeshare in Orlando, Florida. As part of the divorce settlement (8 yrs ago), I paid my ex-husband for his share of the timeshare and the attorneys were to record a quitclaim deed to remove his name. Now that I am trying to get rid of the property, I found out the quitclaim was never recorded and the property remains in both my name as well as my ex-husband's name. To add to this, I have remarried and have a different last name. My ex-husband and I have tried to both sign and notarize a quitclaim to give the property back to the timeshare folks, but I was unable to have my signature notarized since I no longer have an ID with my old name on it. Calls to our divorce attorneys have been completely ignored. So, what is the best way to handle this? Do I have my ex-husband quitclaim this to me in my old name so there is only my old name on the deed? And then, how I sell / give back the property at that point since it would then be in my old name? Also, is there a monetary impact if my ex-husband quitclaims the property to me since I have already paid him for it? Any advice regarding this would be immensely appreciated. Thank you.
Top Areas of Law


