Florida  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
3/02/10, 5:38 am

Legal Question


In a foreclosure defense case, "could a foreclosure sale date be assigned at a hearing" for a motion to dismiss lis pendens (filed by defendant), and a motion to strike affirmative defense (filed by plaintiff) where it is expected the plaintiff will demonstrate he owns the mortgage on property?


question bubble
3/07/10, 6:22 am

Legal Answer


If a foreclosure sale date is assigned at the hearing, the defendant lost the case. The Motion to Remove Lis Pendens may succeed if it is not based upon a duly recorded instrument which was recorded before the date the lis pendens was filed. There should also be a Defendant's Motion to Dismiss filed if there is a question whether the Plaintiff owns the mortgage or if it has not been transfered properly. The Motion to Strike Affirmative Defenses, even if lost, should not be a determinative outcome in the case. A Motion for Summary Judgment or trial will be the final outcome in the case.

Time to get a lawyer who does this kind of defense for a living???

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
3/07/10, 6:32 am

Legal Answer


It shouldn't.

David Slater

David P. Slater, Esq. 5154 Windsor Parke Dr. Boca Raton, FL 33496

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search