Florida  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
9/16/08, 10:08 pm

Legal Question


Foreclosure on Rental Property:

My wife and I own a villa we can't sell. We're considering renting it. If we rent the villa, buy a single family home, the renters don't pay rent and the bank forecloses on the villa, can the bank place a lien on the single family home?


question bubble
9/16/08, 10:13 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Foreclosure on Rental Property:

Yes, but they can't foreclose on it if the single family home is your homestead (i.e., your primary residence). The lien will remain on the single family residence until the home is sold or otherwise transferred, though. Then the lien will have to be paid.

Brent Rose

The Orsini & Rose Law Firm 410 Ware Boulevard, Suite 401 Tampa (and Throughout Florida), FL 33619

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search