Florida  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
1/18/10, 9:27 am

Legal Question


Hello

I signed a lease with my boyfriend for a year. On the contract to lease the dates are wrong. We leased from july 2009-june 2010. The contract to lease says July 2010 to June 2010.

When I went to pick up the key and the contract to lease from the realtor, he handed me an addendum to the lease, where the dates were correct.

On the addendum to the lease, the section where it says how much we have to pay the rent, the dates are wrong again.

Also, while I signed the addendum to the contract to lease, my boyfriend didn't. The realtor told me to write his first name and initial of his last, but it does not have his signature. Also, where his name is written, there is no date.

I signed and dated the addendum to the lease.

Considering all this discrepancy on the lease and the fact that my boyfriend didn't signed the addendum, agreeing to the new dates, can I get out of the lease?

Am I correct to assume that in contractual terms, me and my boyfriend are an entity, and my landlord the other, and in order for a contract to be binding, all three signatures need to be on the contract?

Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search