Florida | Real Estate Law
1/28/10, 6:12 pm
Legal Question
If a lease states no pets and the tenants get a dog, can a portion of the deposit be held back ?
If a lease states no pets and the tenants get a dog, can a portion of the deposit be held back ?
|
Read More Answered By: Cristofer Bennardo |
This would be a breach of the lease. Usually, the lease states that the tenant would have some opportunity to cure the breach after you provide him with notice. You must review the terms of your lease. This is a non monetary breach.
If he does not remove the pet, you would have to review what your options are under the section of the lease addressing remedies upon default. You may have a right to use part of a security deposit to fix damage the pet made, or to reimburse you for costs associated with an eviction if he does not remove the pet, but you cannot simply take the money becuase he has the pet. Possibly if you would allow him to keep the pet under the condition that the security deposit was released to you, this would be ok. However, he would have to agree to this. |
|
Read More Answered By: Lesly Longa |
Well, it depends on what your lease says. But, it sounds like this is a breach of the lease. Give them a right to cure, and if they don't you may be able to put them out (depends on your lease). You could work out an arrangement where the tenants agree to provide you with an additional pet deposit in exchange for keeping the pooch (could be refundable or nonrefundable). Put it in a signed writing if this is the route you choose to go. Ask an attorney for help, if necessary. You can only keep a portion of the deposit to cover damage or repairs, unless your lease specifically states otherwise. Regards, |
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Coral Springs, FL
Questions Answered: 968
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 586
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-03
► What is the law in Florida about tree branches hanging over on neighbor property?
► I am considering buying a home on a canal. The problem is that it appears that a...
► In the state of florida, what does the term (collectively the Grantee) mean?
► I am currenly under a lease agreement at a propery that has been foreclosed upon....
► How can you leave an HOA that dosen't supply any amineties you your property and you...
► Who owns the unused telephone wires in my condo complex? they were installed 19...
► I have lived in my townhouse for 7 years and I have had at least on dog for the past...
More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Florida| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press