Florida | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Leasing a home with a pool
What will be my responsibility if a tenant (or guest of the tenant)is hurt or drowns in the pool on the property they are leasing?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Patrick Russell |
Re: Leasing a home with a pool An owner of a home is liable for injuries or damages as a result of a condition of the property if the owner knew or should have known about the condition, that it was forseeable that the condition could cause damage or injury, and that the condition in fact was the proximate cause of damages or an injury.
Frequently, claims are made against homeowner's for injuries as a result of a pool. Certain ordinances may require that a children's fence be placed around a pool. As such, you should carry a homeowner's insurance policy for liability. It is important to verify that there are no exclusions for injuries or damages relating to the use of a pool or caused by a pool. In addition, you should verify if there is an exclusion in an insurance policy if the home is not your full-time residence and is in fact rented or leased. All of these matters should be addressed with your insurance agent.
Finally, it may not be a bad idea to have a tenant sign a hold harmless, release, and indemnification agreement concerning any damages or injuries that may result from the use of the pool or caused by the pool.
Feel free to contact me if you should have any further questions or concerns. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7772
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Rosenfeld & Stein, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Richard J. Kaplan, P.A.
Coral Springs, FL
Questions Answered: 968
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Probate Attorney Throughout Florida
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 586
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-03
Search Questions and Answers


