Florida  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
1/17/10, 11:29 am

Legal Question


I lived in an apartment/condo from september till december last year. Every month the rent was late and it was due to the fact that the electricity was under the landlord's name and she would tell me how much the bill is for and at that time I would pay for it, usually by the end of the month. The landlord is a classmate from my school so I know her. During the four months she never once said anything about late fees, which according to the lease are $40/day after the first of the month. I paid $1000 for the rent per month, the late fees alone if i am late 25 days equal the rent itself. In december I left early but paid the whole rent for the month, she was fine with everything. Now when it came time to give the deposit back, she sent me back $700(i gave her $900) without an explanation about why it was that much. When I asked she wrote it was for cleaning the place and at that time I mentioned to her that the lease does not say anything about charging that much, and she could of been courteous and tell me why she is charging. I guess this stuff really made her mad and now she wrote back saying that since i was always late every month, the total comes out to $2600 $40/per day late fees. She is only now doing it because i asked about the $200. . I am just a student, I live on loans from semester to semester trying to get by and I dont have money like $2600 laying around. Any insight you can provide would be greatly appreciated. I thank you for your time and advice


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search