Florida | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
I am currently living in an apartment that has a mold problem in the utility closet where my air conditioning unit is located. I have brought the problem the the attention of the management group who deals with the problems that arise in the apartment. I noted it on the inspection sheet when I first moved in and made a request one month later to have it fixed. Someone was sent out and I was told that because there was standing water nothing could be done until a leak in the air conditioning unit was fixed. A month later nothing had been done. It has now been six months since I have moved into the apartment and there is still a mold problem and water is still leaking from the air conditioning unit. What are the legal responsibilities of the landlord in this situation? Would I be able to legally break the lease? What can I do to resolve this issue?


