Florida | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Lost/destroyed promisory note
I am a relatively new home owner in this state. My new mortgage has been resold a number of times in a few months. I have not made payments as a result. A mortgage company claims to have my mortgage and has begun foreclosure proceedings. However, they say they do not have the original promisory note. They claim to have had it at one point, but somehow it was lost or destroyed. They do not expect to be able to produce it. How do I know they hold my mortgage? What are my rights in this instance?


