Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Florida

Hello! I'd like to ask a question concerning my situation. I have lived as a resident in an apartment complex in Tampa, Florida since 2004. I had been paying rent to my room mate since then except for when I moved out briefly to go get married in another state but still had a lot of my belongings here. Well, I was gone for almost a year and moved back into this same apartment about a year ago with my new husband. Well, management at the apt. complex had changed staff since then. They had asked me how long I had lived here and I told them the entire story. They said that I needed to apply to their tenant application and go through an extensive credit,background check,ect. I have my hubby and I listed with the D.M.V. as living here for a year now as seen on my driver's license and his state I.D. Plus I have been paying the internet bill here for a year now as well in my name listed under this apt. number and address. My concern is that over 20yrs. ago their was an assault charge listed as a felony on my record and their policy states that they do not rent to anyone whom has a felony on their record. However, can they even make me apply for residency here when I have proof that I have lived here and been paying rent to my room mate for a year now? In actuality, I paid rent and lived here since 2004 previously except for the brief leave I took to get married. And I even have all of the neighbors in this building that like me and even some of the office staff like me. What rights do I have if they try to deny me living here after all this time? Thanks in advance for any help! ~ Gina

Asked on 9/29/11, 10:28 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes. You were not renting from them, you were renting from the roommate.

Read more
Answered on 9/29/11, 5:15 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now