Florida  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
1/29/10, 1:32 pm

Legal Question


I recently sent in an application to apply for an apartment. They collected a finders fee and a deposit for the apartment. I was denied and because of that I renewed my current lease.The rental company then called me back and told me I was approved. When I explained to them I already renewed with my old lease the associate advised me I would lose my deposit because I was declining the offer.


question bubble
2/04/10, 7:00 am

Legal Answer


From a purely contracts perspective, I think you may be in the right here. You made an "offer" (I want to rent an apartment for X dollars), and they declined your offer. Their non-acceptance is valid upon your receipt of it. After they changed their minds, it is too late. You should be entitled to whatever portion of the fee/deposit you would be entitled to as though they never accepted you (check any contract you signed for the terms). Good luck.

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search