Florida  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
2/08/10, 7:37 am

Legal Question


I am renting a house and just found out that it is in foreclosure. I am concerned about getting my security deposit back. What are the legal ramifications if I stopped making lease payments to the property manager?


question bubble
2/13/10, 7:59 am

Legal Answer


Eviction. You must pay rent as long as you live in the house.

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
2/17/10, 1:39 pm

Legal Answer


Technically you have to continue to make payments as long as they do what they agreed to do - provide you with a place to live. If not, you can be evicted. If you terminate early, the landlord may be able to keep your deposit and go after you for lost rent. Check your lease agreement. That's a bad situation, so you can ask them what the status of the foreclosure is and whether they will be willing to let you out of the lease early. The owner may be trying to work something out with the bank or defending himself in the lawsuit. If they let you out of the lease early and agree to return your deposit, get it in a signed writing. Regards,

Lesly Longa

Longa Law P.A. 511 W Bay Street, Suite 350 Tampa, 33606

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search